Europe’s creativity: strengthen diversity, protect the future

Europe’s creativity: strengthen diversity, protect the future
What do an app designer and an author have in common? What’s the common denominator between a fashion designer and a heavy metal bassist? Correct: Their work is based on individual creativity, cultural values, and talent – and it generates new value from intellectual property. In any case, that is the definition that the European Union uses to describe the cultural and creative industry. And its protection and promotion is very important to me personally. With a share of 11.2% of private companies in Europe and more than 12 million employees it protects the European identity, its culture and values. As a European language, the cultural and creative industry connects all of Europe and shows us over and over again that Europe is our home.

Creative Brandenburg

That is also true for Brandenburg, my German constituency. With more than 27,000 employees, the cultural and creative industry is important for Brandenburg and is a strong driving force towards innovation. Those approximately 12,000 companies produce an annual turnover of about €1.4 million. The cultural and creative industry is an important factor for the economy in Brandenburg. It makes the location more attractive and promotes cultural tourism.

In Brandenburg alone, €7 million from the European Social Fund (ESF) (https://ec.europa.eu/esf/home.jsp) are available for this task. The responsibility lies with the recently founded Agency for Cultural and Creative Industry of Brandenburg.

New approaches for a creative future in the digital age

In recent years, digitalisation has played an increasingly important part in our lives. Therefore, we have to use digitalisation in the various sectors of our industries in a useful and efficient way, the creative industry included.
Many creative sectors have already been touched, for example fashion. Smart or ‘intelligent’ textiles are able to light up, conduct electricity or produce heat. Thanks to these features, they are used in a multitude of sectors: for example in the health sector and automotive industry but also for leisure activities. One example is a shirt that calls the emergency services automatically when needed, or a dynamic surface illumination that moves with the pedestrian.

Culture for Everybody

In this context, the digital transformation brings many opportunities. Nowadays, everybody can have access to a large spectrum of cultural events. The European Union is, therefore, also committed to the quick expansion of broadband and fibre optic Internet. In addition, the European Fund for Regional Development (EFRE) supports those events in particular that help revive the cultural offering in rural areas.

Unfortunately, in the age of digital change and with new access opportunities that the Internet offers, there are more and more cases of copyright misuse. It also becomes increasingly difficult for artists to make a living from their work. Therefore, we have to find a fair foundation for the digitalisation process, guaranteeing fairness for all and enabling us to use the opportunities offered by the new digital processes. One example that forms the basis for such a process is the Copyright Directive for the European Union which is currently being discussed by the European Parliament. Consequently, I have been working actively since 2016 for the fair payment of artists and everybody who improves our cultural diversity with their work.

Home » Themen » Kultur & Kreativität » Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft

Europas Kreativität – Vielfalt stärken, Zukunft schützen!

Was haben ein App-Designer und ein Schriftsteller gemeinsam? Was verbindet den Fashiondesigner mit dem Heavy-Metall-Bassisten? Richtig: Ihre Arbeit basiert auf individueller Kreativität, kulturellen Werten und Talent und generiert neuen Wert aus geistigem Eigentum. So jedenfalls wird in der Europäischen Union die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft definiert, und deren Schutz und Förderung liegt mir persönlich am Herzen! Denn mit einem Anteil von 11.2% der Privatunternehmen in Europa und über 12 Millionen Beschäftigten schützt sie die europäische Identität, Kultur und Werte. Als eine gemeinsame, europäische Sprache verbindet die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft ganz Europa miteinander und zeigt uns immer wieder, dass ganz Europa unsere Heimat ist.

Kreatives Brandenburg

Und das gilt auch in Brandenburg. Die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft ist mit mehr als 27.000 Erwerbstätigen eine wichtige Branche in unserem Land und ein starker Motor für Innovationen: Die rund 12.000 Unternehmen setzen jedes Jahr etwa 1,4 Milliarden Euro um. Die Kultur- und die Kreativindustrie ist ein wichtiger Impulsgeber für die Wirtschaft in Brandenburg, machen den Standort attraktiver und fördern den Kulturtourismus.

Allein in Brandenburg stehen 7 Millionen Euro aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) (https://ec.europa.eu/esf/home.jsp?langId=de) für diese Aufgabe zur Verfügung. Dafür zuständig ist die neu gegründete Agentur für Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft des Landes.

Neue Wege für eine kreative Zukunft im digitalen Zeitalter

In den letzten Jahren hat die Digitalisierung einen immer größeren Platz in unserem Leben eingenommen. Gerade deshalb müssen wir die Digitalisierung nutzbringend und effektiv in die verschiedenen Bereiche unserer Industrien einbauen, auch in der Kreativwirtschaft.

Schon heute berührt sie viele kreative Bereiche – wie zum Beispiel: Mode. Smart Textiles oder „intelligente Gewebe“ können heute schon leuchten, Strom leiten und heizen. Mit diesen Eigenschaften finden sie Anwendungen in den verschiedensten Bereichen – einige sind zum Beispiel: Gesundheitsversorgung, Automobilindustrie, aber auch Freizeit. Der Trend geht gerade zum Beispiel zu einem selbstagierenden Notruf-Shirt für Senioren oder einer dynamisch mitwandernden Flächenbeleuchtung für Fußgänger.

Kultur für Jedermann

In diesem Zusammenhang bietet die Digitale Transformation natürlich viele Chancen. Jedem kann heutzutage einen Zugang zu einem umfangreichen Kulturangebot ermöglicht werden. Die EU engagiert sich auch deshalb für einen schnellen Ausbau des Breitband- und Glasfaserinternets. Der Europäische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) fördert außerdem genau solche Projekte, die in ländlichen Regionen die Kulturangebote der Gemeinden wieder aufleben lassen.

Doch gerade in Zeiten des digitalen Wandels und der neuen Zugangsmöglichkeiten im Internet kommt es immer öfter zu Missbrauch von geschützten Inhalten und es wird immer schwieriger von seinen Werken zu leben. Deshalb müssen wir eine faire Basis für die Digitalisierung finden, mit der wir Gerechtigkeit für alle garantieren und die Chancen der neuen digitalen Prozesse nutzen können. Als Basis dafür gilt zum Beispiel die Urheberrechtsrichtlinie für die Europäische Union, die gerade im Europäischen Parlament verhandelt wird. Deswegen setze ich mich schon seit 2016 für die faire Bezahlung von Künstlern und all diejenigen, die unsere kulturelle Vielfalt durch ihre Arbeit mit Leben erfüllen, ein.