What is the ‘Cultural and Creative Industry in Europe’ intergroup?

In 2014, I founded the ‘Cultural and Creative Industry in Europe’ intergroup together with my colleague Pervenche Berès (Socialists & Democrats, S&D). An intergroup, even though it is not an official organ with a representative function, brings together Members of the European Parliament from different parties and countries to discuss topics of common interest. These groups are founded at the beginning of each legislative period. They also need to receive the approval of the plenum, following which they can organise events and round tables, connect members with each other and consult each other on legislation.

I decided to found an intergroup for the creative industry as this industry represents our future; it is highly innovative and surprises us over and over again. Currently the creative sector is at the center of a number of legislative initiatives, for example the development of the Digital Internal Market and the Copyright Directive. In order to make a difference, we need an international non-party approach with allies across all committees and parties.

What are our priorities?

In particular, the intergroup is focused on:
• The Copyright Directive of the European Parliament as part of the Digital Internal Market and its effect on the creative industry
• The positioning of this industry as a priority in the relevant support and financial structures (for example Creative Europe, the 9th EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (FP9), Structural Funds, the Multiannual Finance Framework (MFF) and the Programme for the Competitiveness of Enterprises and Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (COSME)
• The promotion of cultural diversity in Europe
• The establishment of the Digital Internal Market
• The fight against unemployment in European member states
• The preservation of traditional craftsmanship skills
• The positioning of creativity and the creative industry as pillars of European integration

What have we achieved so far?

During this legislative period, the intergroup has already organised more than 20 events and workshops with important stakeholders and legislators to discuss important and current topics for the creative industry.

Those events were, for example:
• Discussions with the Minister of State Monika Grütters and the French Minister of Culture at the time, Fleur Pellerin (March 2015)
• The exchange of opinions with Commissioner Oettinger (March 2015)
• A discussion with lobbyists on ‘Future Industrial Politics for the Cultural and Creative Industry (from November 2015 to May 2016).
• An event with IMPALA and LiveEurope on the occasion of the pilot project ‘Music Moves Europe: A EU music funding programme’ (June 2017)
• An event with Commissioner Gabriel on ‘The European Animation Industry: Time for Action’ (January 2018)

In addition, the intergroup organised two high-level conferences on the future of the cultural and creative industry (June 2015 and October 2016).
And there was more. During the current semester, the following events have taken place:
• An event with GESAC on ‘How can the value gap in the Copyright Directive be overcome?’ (March 2018)
• An event with the Swedish region of Skane on ‘The Regional Cultural and Creative Industry: untapped potential?’ (March 2018)
• A discussion with stakeholders on ‘The Cultural and Creative Industry within the new Framework Programme for Research’ (April 2018)

Who are the members of the ‘Cultural and Creative Industry’ intergroup?

The intergroups of the European Parliament are international and non-party related. The ‘Cultural and Creative Industry’ intergroup has 36 members:


Dr. Christian Ehler (DE)

Pascal Arimont (BE)

Heinz K. Becker (AT)

Jerzey Buzek (PL)

Marc Joulaud (FR)

Barbara Kudrycka (PL)

Angelika Niebler (DE)

Paul Rübig (AT)

Inese Vaidere (LV)

Sabine Verheyen (DE)

Hermann Winkler (DE)

Joachim Zeller (DE)


Pervenche Berès (FR)

José Blanco López (ES)

Silvia Costa (IT)

Mady Delvaux-Stehres (LU)

Lidia Joanna Geringer de Ooedenberg (PL)

Neena Gill (UK)

Giorgos Grammatikakis (GR)

Eva Kaili (GR)

Dietmar Köster (DE)

Constanze Krehl (DE)

Krystyna Lybacka (PL)

Susanne Melior (DE)

Virgine Roziere (FR)


Helga Trüpel (DE)

Reinhard Bütikofer (DE)

Julia Reda (DE)


Isabella Adinolfi (IT)

Eleonora Evi (IT)


Martina Dlabajová (CZ)

Petras Austrevicius (LT)

Angelika Mlinar (AT)


Emma Mcclarkin (UK)


Barbara Kappel (AT)